Yeah, more Ace Meme
8. Do you believe there should be asexual pride? What do you imagine it being like?
Sure, why not? I don't know if you mean an event or a physical, wearable symbol (like the black ring) or an attitude, so I'll imagine all three.
Asexual pride event- kinda pointless-ish. A talking group within communities would be kinda nice. A place where asexuals could meet others and make friends and complain a little. Face-to-face complaining is definitely better than internet-bitching because there's less drama schmama.
Asexual Pride Wearable Symbol- we already have our own flag, colors, triangle, and a nifty ring. I guess if I were designing one, it'd be something boring. A lock. If it was just for me, it'd be a lock surrounded by tentacles and a tiny little albatross flying away with a key.
Asexual Pride Attitude- the no-nonsense British Nanny attitude, looking at questioners with unwavering, unapologetic, you-silly-child-I-will-mind-you-but-I-will-be-firm calmness, reiterating the basics: your thoughts are not my thoughts, I already said no, and I don't see why you find this hard to understand, but just give it time and you'll get used to it. And, of course, lots of "you not believing me isn't going to give me a sex drive". Robotic if need be.
9. What does being asexual mean to you?
It means I ain't really interested in sex. *Flat look*
Alright, I should make more of an effort. It means sex literally does not interest me. I don't feel the need to seek it. I don't care if I never, ever have any kind of sex. It means I'd be significantly more upset if I knew I would never RP again, never get a new enjoyable audio book, never have a cat, never go into the woods, never have entire days of solitude, or never draw with my tablet again than if I never had sex. It means if someone said "take this magic potion and you will deeply enjoy sex with this attractive person" I wouldn't even be interested in that.
I don't see the point in my having it. I understand that my friends enjoy it and I'm happy that they enjoy it, in the same way that my friend adores K-Pop and I'm happy she likes it but I don't really care about it.
But there's more. I've listened to K-Pop with my friend, heard her talking about it, enjoyed hearing her enjoy it, and watched a few TV shows with her and enjoyed her enjoyment of it, paid attention and listened to her explaining things to me. It's more about me enjoying spending time with her, though. I think that if I ever met a person who I liked, and we became close friends and they wanted sex specifically with me, I would not rule out having a K-Pop-esque relationship with them about it. Well... kinda. We'd have to be in character, though. Unless they've got a kink for dead-faced or otherwise not-paying-much-attention partners.
Super flippant answer: It means no.
10. What have other people said about your asexuality?
Annoying shyte. The usual. "finding the right person" mostly, and all that shyte that lonely sexuals say because they desperately don't want to believe that they could be forever alone. I'm starting to think that some sexuals are unconsciously nervous about the concept of asexuality, to the point where it's almost threatening. Subconsciously, that is, because there's nothing they're able to point to and say "that's scary".
Not to pick on straight people, but let's take, for example, a heterosexual male who is not secure. [DISCLAIMER: for the record, my best friend, J-Virgo, once confessed his love to a straight guy, who extremely politely said that he was flattered, but not gay, and hoped that J-Virgo would still be his friend. So don't think for one second that I'm making a blanket statement. I'm speaking to Social Justice Sallies here]
Back to the example. Imaginary Insecure Hetero-Man might be threatened by Imaginary Hypothetical Gay Man. Het-Man's fears can be described in tangible terms- "this threatens my sexuality with male-on-male action". But what's the threat with Hypothetical Asexual? Not so easy to describe. "This threatens my sexuality by introducing a black void where sex does not exist." Nature abhors a vacum, guys. There's nothing to put there, and human brains don't exactly have a schema for "this is the nothing". That's why death frightens so many people. That's why they invented "the afterlife". The concept of nothing is scary, and the absence of sexuality is terrifying.
Annnnnnd, I fear I've gone into tl;dr territory. I need a damned editor.
11. If you’re out, talk about the most accepting person you’ve come out to.
Oh, there are so many. I guess it'd have to be my constant ally, J-Virgo. How is he the most accepting? When I told him, he just said "ok". If I ever expressed aesthetic admiration of a person, he never said "but aren't you asexual?!". He never brought up my asexuality. If someone was giving me a hard time, he'd help me out. He never treated it like a case to be debunked, a lie that needed vigilance for when I "slipped up", or a huge production requiring a parade. That's acceptance to me.
No comments:
Post a Comment